Hi there!

Let me introduce myself: I’m Tessa and I teach math in the Netherlands. This is my third year teaching. I teach both the Dutch curriculum (normal and bi-lingual) and the International Baccalaureate Diploma Program in what we call ‘de middelbare school’, which means the kids range in age from 12-19.

I have been reading lots of teacher blogs for the past 3 years and have decided to participate in Explore the MTBoS (http://exploremtbos.wordpress.com/), so this is my first mission: create a blog and introduce yourself.

I love teaching because it brings new challenges everyday. I hope to never feel like I am done learning how to teach. In my ideal classroom we would work on lots of open-ended problems, instead of just doing exercises from the textbook, which seems to be the norm here.

That’s all for now, mission 1 complete 🙂

2 thoughts on “Hi there!

  1. Hello back, I took a chance guessing that this was the comment box 🙂 Anyway, as a teacher in the US, I also find teaching from the textbook to be the norm. It is a tragic way to engage students in true mathematical thinking and closes the door to real discussion. As a result, I want to incorporate more open-ended quesitons as well. I have tried a couple of times so far, and students reaction has been promising, which is encouraging to say the least. If you want to continue a conversation on how to tackle standards while using open-ended problems, I would be happy to be involved. I am only a second-year teacher so there is much to learn! I wish you the best with the ongoing school year.

  2. Welcome to the world of blogging. I only started a few months ago too after reading blogs for over a year. I agree it is important to keep learning how to improve your teaching and come up with new ways to present material to students. Also, glad your post was in English because I can’t read the Dutch even though my ancestors are from Friesland.

Geef een reactie

